Traveling and Fitness

I feel like this is a common subject that I like to talk about.
Usually when I travel it’s for work, but this past week I went up to the only place I call home: Massachusetts.  My grandmother passed away in August and the official funeral service took place in October.  Where the remainder (aside from my intermediate family) resides on my mothers side.  Due to obnoxious reasons I was unable to workout, but when i’m out of town for work, it’s either after a 13 hour work day I’m too exhausted to, or the friends I never get to see I’d rather hang out with.

Over this past year I’ve learned a lot of things.  Sometimes i’m out of town for 3-4 days, sometimes a week.  I’ve tried several things as far as preventing muscle loss and there has been big differences as far as that goes.  Don’t try to watch your diet/make your portion sizes smaller when you know you’re not going to be working out.  Whenever I did that and came back to the gym I felt SO weak and everything was so difficult.  Eat what you want, if you know it has protein especially, eat it.  Now if there are cookies or desserts… you know you don’t need that.  (But I usually fail to resist the cookie urge……that is my kryptonite)    Try to keep up with protein shakes just to get that added punch in.  Even if you don’t drink them every day it helps.  And keep snacking.  Every two-three hours pop in a protein bar or some small meal.  The last thing you want to do is be hungry, that’s terrible for your metabolism on top of your muscles.

I’m no pro when it comes to this, and I usually kick myself every time I’m gone for x amount of days and come back and the work out is hard haha.  But even if you don’t travel, i’d say every 2-3 months give yourself a few days break.  Believe me I know how hard it is on rest days to resist the urge to do something unless you are busy, but your body will thank you for it.  Allow your muscles and more to heal, and you’ll come back even stronger.  When I have long breaks in between traveling gigs, when I come back it’s like WOAH! i’m even stronger now! This is awesome!  *Short term superhero feels*

Within the past month i've had about 13/14 days off from the gym, spread out by maybe 5 days.  But i'm still strong and still holding the definition.

Within the past month i’ve had about 13/14 days off from the gym, spread out by maybe 5 days. But i’m still strong and still holding the definition.

Leave a Reply

